I MINA'TRENTAI UNU NA LIHESLATURAN GUÅHAN 2011 (FIRST) Regular Session

Resolution No. 143-31 (COR)

Introduced by:

Dennis G. Rodriguez, Jr. Adolpho B. Palacios, Sr.

R. J. Respicio

T. C. Ada

V. Anthony Ada

F. F. Blas, Jr.

B. J.F. Cruz

Chris M. Dueñas

Sam Mabini, Ph.D.

Judith P. Guthertz, DPA

T. R. Muña Barnes

v. c. pangelinan

M. Silva Taijeron

Aline A. Yamashita, Ph.D.

Judith T. Won Pat, Ed.D.

Relative to recognizing and commending the Aklan Association of Guam on the Induction of new Officers and Board of Directors; and to further congratulating them on their Forty-Sixth (46th) Year Anniversary of service and dedication to the island of Guam and the Province of Aklan, Philippines.

BE IT RESOLVED BY THE COMMITTEE ON RULES OF I

2 MINA'TRENTAI UNU NA LIHESLATURAN GUÅHAN:

- 3 WHEREAS, the Province of Aklan was officially established on April 25,
- 4 1956, by Philippine President Ramon Magsaysay with the signing of Republic Act
- 5 1414; and

I	WHEREAS, Aklan is known as one of the oldest provinces in the Philippines,
2	with people settling there as early as the year 1213, and it is now comprised of
3	seventeen (17) municipalities; and
4	WHEREAS, the people of Aklan take great pride in their commemoration of
5	Ati-Atihan, a festival celebrated on the third (3 rd) Sunday of every month to honor the
6	Santo Niño; and
7	WHEREAS, the Aklan Association of Guam was first established in 1965, and
8	since then they have kept this Ati-Atihan tradition alive in the Guam community; and
9	WHEREAS, the Aklan Association of Guam has made many selfless
10	contributions to the island community through volunteerism, service and support; and
11	WHEREAS, one of their contributions includes the annual display of the Ati-
12	Atihan during the Señor Santo Niño Fiesta, which is spearheaded by the Santo Niño
13	Guam 2000 Organization, which is comprised of devotees from the provinces of
14	Cebu, Aklan, Iloilo, Leyte, Samar and Capiz; and
15	WHEREAS, the Señor Santo Niño Fiesta is celebrated annually on the second
16	(2 nd) Sunday of January with a Mass at the Dulce Nombre de Maria Cathedral
17	Basilica, and followed by a procession accompanied by the Aklan Ati-Atihan
18	drummers; and
19	WHEREAS, the Aklan drummers have also provided their services by
20	participating in the 2011 Relay for Life; and
21	WHEREAS, the Aklan Association of Guam has provided financial assistance
22	to its members for off-island medical treatment; and
23	WHEREAS, individual Aklanons are also engaged in volunteer work to assist
24	at health fairs, and to help ensure that the Man'amko of the island receive their
25	medication and Medicare coverage; and

1	WHEREAS, the Aklans have donated wheelchairs to the Guam Memorial
2	Hospital to help assist with their need for equipment; and
3	WHEREAS, many members of the Aklan Association of Guam have made
4	considerable donations to assist the victims of the recent earthquake and tsunami in
5	Japan; and
6	WHEREAS, among its many notable civic improvement projects, the Aklan
7	Association of Guam made the generous contribution of a picnic shelter at the Ypao
8	Beach Park, and also donated funds to help with the beautification of the Archbishop
9	Felixberto Flores Statue in Tamuning; and
10	WHEREAS, in 2007, the Aklan Association of Guam made a monetary
11	donation to the provincial government of Aklan, which was presented by Ms. Tiberio,
12	to assist the flood victims of Kalibo and nearby municipalities; and
13	WHEREAS, the Aklan Association of Guam has elected new officials for 2011
14	through 2013; and the following twelve (12) individuals were elected as Officers:
15	President - Annie V. Payne
16	First Vice President - Susan S. Ibit
17	Second Vice President - Patrick S. Luces
18	Secretary - Madelaine M. Luces
19	Asst. Secretary - Rowena C. Tydingco
20	Treasurer - Cecilia T. Solidum
21	Asst. Treasurer - Cathy M. Solidum
22	Auditor - Jocelyn Baja
23	Business Manager - Lawrence S. Luces
24	PRO - Andrew T. Solidum
25	Peace Officer - Bernie S. Solidum
26	Peace Officer - Bernard S. Solidum

1 WHEREAS, the following individuals have been elected to serve as members of the Aklan Association of Guam's Board of Directors: Marcy C. Andres, Ma. 2 3 Winsey M. Banes, Julie M. Cabales, Ethel S.M. Conlu, Saturnino Conlu, Erlinda C. Flores, Narciso M. Ibit, Lilia Laurente, Aida S. Luces, Marivie M. Luces, Mildred 4 5 Saber, Dory A.Solidum, MD, Amelia I. Solidum, Belmina Soliva, and Consuelo 6 Tabanar; now therefore, be it 7 **RESOLVED,** that the Committee on Rules of I Mina'Trentai Unu Na 8 Liheslaturan Guåhan does hereby, on behalf of I Liheslaturan Guåhan and the people 9 of Guam, commend and congratulate the Aklan Association of Guam on the occasion of their Forty-Sixth (46th) Year Anniversary, and on the induction of their new 10 11 Officers & Board of Directors; and does further extend a warm Un Dangkulo Na Si Yu'us to its members for their unselfish dedication and the invaluable contributions 12 13 they have made to Guam and the Province of Aklan, Philippines over the past forty-14 six (46) years; and be it further 15 **RESOLVED**, that the Speaker and the Chairperson of the Committee on Rules certify, and the Legislative Secretary attest to, the adoption hereof, and that copies of 16

the same be thereafter transmitted to the Aklan Association of Guam; and to the

Honorable Edward J.B. Calvo, I Maga'lahen Guåhan.

17

18

DULY AND REGULARLY ADOPTED BY THE COMMITTEE ON RULES OF I MINA'TRENTAI UNU NA LIHESLATURAN GUÂHAN ON THE 23RD DAY OF JUNE 2011.

JUDITH T. WON PAT, Ed.D.

Speaker

RORY L'RESPICIO

Chairperson, Committee on Rules

TINA ROSE MUÑA BARNES

Legislative Secretary